Stupid chain messages

Source: http://www.buzzfeed.com/candacelowry/soul-crushing-habits-that-need-to-be-banned-on-facebook#.hagpdQmd
Source: http://www.buzzfeed.com/candacelowry/soul-crushing-habits-that-need-to-be-banned-on-facebook#.hagpdQmd

I’m pretty sure everyone knows what chain messages are. For those who don’t (I doubt there will be anyone in this category) chain letters are annoyingly long messages about some random crap that ask you to forward the same to a number of people after reading them and claim that if you don’t, something weird will happen to you; mostly about the person being killed or something. These chain messages are all up on social networking sites and even in mail! Usually our mail filters it out as spam but sometimes the folders are filled with stupid messages that ask the person to forward the message to other people.

Thinking of spam, I remember that recently I got a mail for confirming my email id for a dating website. Believe me, I completely freaked out! I checked the link and there was actually a profile by my name! I asked a friend and after a little research here and there, he told me that it was a spam website and they send these mails to people.

I sure was relieved, but that kinda prompted me to check out its history, which then brought me to chain messages.

At first, these messages were sent in the form of letters passed through hand or sent in mail (like Send-a-Dime letter) and the person was asked to make copies and forward them to other people. They would include examples of people who obeyed and were rewarded and those who didn’t suffered. (Wikipedia)

It evolved later into the current forms we have now. There was this one time I came across one chain message on my mom’s phone about a girl dying in a horrible way and that if I didn’t forward the message to 10 friends, she would come to my room on a Monday night and kill me. I was about 10 years old and not to mention, I got pretty freaked out. Yeah, I slept beside mom that day.

It’s funny how some pages on Facebook put out some famous person’s face (or a poor kid) and ask people to like it or one of their loved one will die. And not surprisingly, the get over a million likes! Why people actually believe in all that is completely out of my reach. I guess over the years we have all come to create some sort of a connection between coincidence and luck. Especially when we are going on a date we tend to wear our ‘lucky’ dress just because the last time we wore it, the date went well (*wink*), or seeing somebody’s face right after you wake up so your day goes well just because it happened so before. These are nothing but superstitious beliefs and I’m sure we all tend to believe in them in some way or the other.

There is an article by B.F Skinner about the relationship between learning (operant conditioning) and our belief in superstitions. He takes the example of the pigeon and how it learns to act in a certain way so it can be rewarded through food because of an earlier established connection between ritual and favourable consequences. (Webb)

Here’s the link:

http://www.all-about-psychology.com/superstition-in-the-pigeon.html

And yeah, next time you come across a chain message, please, for the love of God, DO NOT FORWARD THEM or…. do I really need to mention the rest?

17 thoughts on “Stupid chain messages

  1. Its human psychology to get scared everyone does get scared ,only enlightened one don’t as they are detached ,all these superstitions, religion are based on fear we go to temple because we were told to we cover our head with scarf in gurudwara because we were told to , does God exist in temple and gurudwara ? No he is everywhere still we visit places as we are scared we have desires those are exploited by such superstitions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I kind of agree, but I guess there is a thin line between belief and superstition, and the fact that people visit holy places is because they ‘believe’ that God will listen to their prayers and give them blessings, and not because they are scared of a superstition.

      Like

      1. God is listening everyone ,everywhere we need not to visit any place ,its our karmas that we have to face ,even god can’t interfere in that I guess the amount of money spent on religious places will be used in much better way doing good to society let it be golden temple or tirupati balaji

        Like

      2. That’s again contradictory and very very subjective. The whole concept of religion and God can mean whole different things to different people and it shouldn’t be generalised.

        Like

      3. All I can say that you may have different perspective ,carry on with that as its clearly written in gurbani without his wish no one can get enlightened

        Like

      4. I’m an agnostic, it doesn’t matter to me what’s written where. All I’m trying to say is the concept of religion and God is diverse and everyone has different interpretations of being ‘enlightened’. And that one should keep an open mind while discussing such sensitive issues.

        Like

      5. Of course I am alive only as I am very open minded ,no one in this works is agnostic, enlightenment has only one definition ,surrender and acceptance rest all are mirage ,still I wish you happiness

        Like

      6. i don’t understand what ‘no one in this works is agnostic’ mean, and about enlightenment, just because it has one definition, it doesn’t mean there is only one way to attain it. and that’s what i meant by my previous comment.

        Like

      7. I am sorry its world not work , regarding enlightenment its not something which we can attain or learn its God’s grace only , no enlightened man learnt it they earned it ,god bless

        Like

      8. World is not like this because of agnostic people ,its because selfish people ,I agree enlightenment is self realization ,everyone realizes himself at certain moment in life but what matters is perpetual realization and implementation ,everyone knows relationships are temporary still we go mad to maintain them let it be son ,parents ,husband ,wife

        Like

  2. Reblogged this on Site Title and commented:
    Chain messages annoy me.

    Have you received chain messages?

    If you share it you will receive this amount within 30 minutes.

    I know one of their purposes is to impose positivity to the readers but this will not change the fact that we’ve somehow wasted time to send it. I have wasted time to send it. Yes, I admit I send it for a few copies, most of the time to the one who actually sends it to me. For what? For the sake of they have sent it to me and I’m just returning a good vibe to them.

    Why it annoys me? I somehow put hope to these chain messages t o actually bless me with money, but it did not happen. Am I getting too silly? Of putting my hopes high to it? I admit I am but I realize that these chain messages are getting my focus to rely on the goodness of God’s grace. Am I a preacher? No, I am just stating my opinion.

    Even if these chain messages talk about God, I started generalizing every chain messages as giving me the annoyance that this will not help me. My real God will do. My awesome, powerful, graceful ever faithful God will do.

    Prayer will make a huge impact than sending those chain messages. Prayer will not waste a time, it resolves everything.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

